July 24, 2018

Otolaryngology Department Hosts Annual Resident Research and Alumni Conference

The UAMS Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery celebrated the end of another successful academic year with a guest lecture, presentations and awards at the annual Resident Research and Alumni Conference, June 15- 16.

Jeffrey N. Myers, M.D., Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, was the J. Floyd Kyser, M.D., Distinguished Guest Lecturer. He spoke on Saturday to faculty, residents and local otolaryngologists on the “The Role of the Otolaryngologist – Head and Neck Surgeon in Oropharyngeal Cancer Management” and “Multidisciplinary Head and Neck Cancer Care in 2018.”

Myers and the faculty reviewed the residents’ research presentations, recognizing two residents for the quality of their work. Juliana Bonilla-Velez, M.D., was awarded Highest Excellence in Research and Michael Kubala, M.D., was awarded Excellence in Research. Jamie Glancy Bizzell, M.D., and Cody Page, M.D., received awards for receiving the highest In-Service Exam score.

Group holding certificates

Kurt Nelson, M.D.; Juliana Bonilla-Velez, M.D.; Jamie Glancy Bizzell, M.D.; Tristan Allsopp, M.D.; Megan Gaffey, M.D.

Over 120 faculty, staff, family and friends celebrated the graduation of three chief residents and two fellows June 15 at the Chenal Country Club. During the dinner, the department honored graduating chief residents Bonilla-Velez, Bizzell and Kurt Nelson, M.D., together with the graduating Arkansas Children’s fellow, Megan Gaffey, M.D., and the otology fellow, Tristan Allsopp, M.D.

The following individuals were recognized by the residents during the banquet:

Group with award

Juliana Bonilla-Velez, M.D.; Charles Bower, M.D., (2018 Dean’s Teaching Award recipient); Kurt Nelson, M.D.; Jamie Glancy Bizzell, M.D.

  • Charles Bower, M.D., received the Dean’s Teaching Award for outstanding contributions to the education of the otolaryngology residents.
  • Konnie Taylor, a nurse with the Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System (CAVHS), received the Service Award for outstanding service to the otolaryngology residents, helping make their work and lives less complicated and more enjoyable.

Two awards were presented during the conference on Saturday:

  • James Y. Suen, M.D., distinguished professor in the UAMS Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, received the Distinguished Alumni Award.
  • Jenny Badley, a nurse at CAVHS, received the Distinguished Service Award.
Group at Chief Resident’s banquet

Faculty, residents and fellows at the 2018 Chief Residents’ banquet